Where I work likes to keep the machines up to date with the latest patches on all their systems. There is nothing wrong with that, but the way automatic updates goes about it is.

About an hour ago I go the message that as part of the automatic update my machine needs to be rebooted, and gave me a choice of now or later. Due to me debugging some treacherous code I selected later but Automatic Updates doesn’t believe that I will update my system, and keeps reminding me that I need to reboot like I have the attention span of a goldfish. I DON’T WANT TO REBOOT – I’D RATHER KEEP WORKING ON WHAT I AM DOING!

In fact I have had to dismiss it while writing the post.